Eloisa, the red-haired gypsy fortune teller of “Inside the River.”

So, what does Ana do after the fish sing to her and carry her away? She meets Eloisa, a red-haired gypsy fortune teller who teaches Ana how to use her gifts — the magic that is already inside of her.

Upon their meeting, Ana serves Eloisa tea, and as it is written in my book:

I poured the hot water onto the mint leaves and rested the cup beside her.  The top of her left hand was painted in a blue design of two circles with a dot inside and dots all around.

“Your hand is beautiful.  What does it mean?”

“It means one drop of water can create a ripple of change.  I had it done to remind me.”

“Remind you of what?”

“To keep looking for you.”  Eloisa gently touched my shoulder.  “I didn’t want to leave The Great One.  I spent many seasons learning the ways of truth from Him.  He taught me in order to teach the one with blue hair.”

“What will you teach me?”  I looked up.

And so the story goes…

What I love about Eloisa is her fierce sense of teaching.  All my greatest teachers have,  in subtle and more obvious ways, forced me to ask myself…

What do I want to learn?

I would love to know your thoughts...thanks for sharing!

