Stuffing My Nostrils

Another amazing Zen story:

A devotee of Krishna used to worship and pray in front of a statue of him every day.  She waved incense and offered flowers, but her prayers never materialized.  In frustration, she put him in the corner and replaced him with a statue of Rama.  The next day as she offered her incense and said her prayers to Rama, she noticed how the smoke drifted towards Krishna in the corner.

She stuffed Krishna’s nostrils with cotton and said, “Not one whiff of incense from me!”

At that moment the statue came alive.  Krishna said, “My dear, what can I do for you?”

The woman replied, “After all these years, why now?”

Krishna said, “When you stuffed my nostrils with cotton, it was the first time you treated me as real, so of course I had to answer your prayers!”

I am not a religious person, but I am a spiritual one and I adore stories that lift away the mist that leaves my mind cluttered and anchored down.  This is a story about being in the present moment so that whatever you offer up…a prayer, intention, dedication, support, love…you do it from a real place.

I am struggling with the synopsis of my book (any advice is appreciated) but I am staying the course, holding onto my dream and the merit of my story.  This blog keeps it out of the corner.

What nostrils do you need to stuff… 🙂

I would love to know your thoughts...thanks for sharing!

